Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old May 7, 2012   #1
pinklady5
Tomatovillian™

Default The leaves on my 6 week old plants are not hearty

Ok this is my first year growing tomtoes from seed. Had great success with germination and transplanting up, however, the leaves just seem too delicate and not hearty or strong at all. I stopped by a local nursery to compare and noticed that the leaves on their seedlings are much darker and stonger in thickness. Now of course I am comparing to a pro gardner but why are leaves on my plants so much weaker? I have not fertilized anything yet. Should I give up on these plants? It's almost time to plant them out in the garden.
pinklady5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012   #2
kath
Tomatovillian™

Hi, pinklady! Don't give up on them! What varieties are you growing? Some kinds are supposed to have the type of leaves you describe. They seem very fine and/or droopy and sometimes the stems are thinnner than others but they will grow and produce tomatoes just fine. Often these wispy leaved plants produce paste or heart shaped fruits. Can you post a picture?
kath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012   #3
Crandrew
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinklady5 View Post
Ok this is my first year growing tomtoes from seed. Had great success with germination and transplanting up, however, the leaves just seem too delicate and not hearty or strong at all. I stopped by a local nursery to compare and noticed that the leaves on their seedlings are much darker and stonger in thickness. Now of course I am comparing to a pro gardner but why are leaves on my plants so much weaker? I have not fertilized anything yet. Should I give up on these plants? It's almost time to plant them out in the garden.
Pictures please.
Fertilizer regimen