Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old September 7, 2021   #1
sic transit gloria
Tomatovillian™

Default 2021 Best and Worst

I looked, but surprisingly so no "year in review" type thread. So, here were my favorites and duds for 2021.

Top flavor goes to Aunt Ginny's Purple. I've been growing heirloom tomatoes for over 20 years, and I've lnow about AGP for probably the last 10 or more years, and even attempted to grow it one year, but it didn't germinate. Well, this year was the year. I typically go for the acid/sweet balance, but AGP is on the sweeter side; nevertheless, it was a real standout this year. Not tons of production, but the flavor will put it in the yearly rotation.

Honorable Mentions:

Neves Azorean Red was great this year, and maintains its place in the yearly rotation.
Kitaskaya Princessa was new to me this year. A green-when-ripe (GWR), this plant was super productive and very tasty. I'm not sure it replaces Malachite Box or Green Giant, but I'll likely grow it out next year and have a shootout with Malachite Box.
Lucky Cross, although late, was really nice. As with most bi-colors, it was pretty sweet and large. I think it eclipsed Virginia Sweets as my go-to bi-color.

Duds:

Well, there's always at least one dud every year, whether it be bad flavor or miserly production. This year Brown Cherry takes the crown of shame. I has such high hopes on seeing these giant clusters of tomatoes. The flavor was not good, unfortunately. The size was larger than a cherry, which is fine, and the plant was super productive, like most cherries, but the flavor left a lot to be desired. To be entirely honest, I'm not big on cherry tomatoes in the first place due to the high seed-to-flesh ratio, but these were not good at all. So, I will return to Black Cherry, which does have a nice flavor.
sic transit gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7, 2021   #2
AKmark