Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old April 12, 2010   #1
Icormond
Tomatovillian™

Default Why don't mine look like their's

I have been growing tomatoes from seed for the last 2 years. I follow all the recommended procedures, use soiless media, don’t over water and don’t add fertilizer. When the babies sprout I keep them warm and transplant them into larger pots using more soiless media when they get their true leaves. I keep them under a florescent light at a distance of one inch. I put them outside when they are big enough. As I live in Florida so the temp is usually ok.

Here’s my frustration. When I go to Lowes or Home Depot and look at the plants that they are selling they look so much greener and the stucks seem to be thicker.

What am I doing wrong??
Icormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12, 2010   #2
huntoften
Tomatovillian™

Professional greenhouse growers have lots of tricks up their sleeves..perfect conditions, much longer growing time, the way they handle their plants, etc.

However...don't fret. Put your home potted up 6-8 week old seedling in the same bed and by the end of May, you won't know the difference. By the end of June...yours will out produce the store bought plant likely. Slow and steady wins the race!
Old April 12, 2010   #3
Icormond
Tomatovillian™

Thanks. I guess I was looking for some of these tricks. Probably the best thing I can do is try not to compare
Icormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12, 2010   #4
Farmette
Tomatovillian™