Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old March 28, 2012   #1
aimeruni
Tomatovillian™

Default do all squash need trellising?

They will be grown in either raised beds or plastic storage containers with holes drilled in the bottom for irrigation. Size of storage containers for growing squash is 30-40 gallons; one plant per container. Storage Containers are about 1'-1/2' wide and about 1'-2' across.

'Bush types' have smaller vines (4'-6'); they're more compact, can be grown in limited space, tolerant of being spaced closer together.

All varieties are winter squash. Dimensions for all varieties are 3'-4' w/width (spread) and 1'-2' w/height (how tall).

How would you position a trellis in container? Is this possible? Do I just tie the vines w/fruit to trellis? If so when? How? Don't know, as I've never done this before.

Varieties are butternut, acorn, buttercup, spaghetti, delicata and pumpkin (small sugar types, 7-10 lbs. per fruit)
aimeruni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28, 2012   #2
JoParrott

Squash will be a challenge to trellis- Most people let them sprawl. Each squash will have to be tied being so heavy.
Old March 28, 2012   #3
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoParrott View Post
Squash will be a challenge to trellis- Most people let them sprawl. Each squash will have to be tied being so heavy.
Agree, actually impossible b'c of the weight of the squash.

I'm forced to grow squash in gro bags now, 12 gal, as well as large containers and I plant 5 seeds of each variety in each gro-bag or container, four in a circle and one in the middle and then thin out to leave the best three plants.

And then just let them go wherever they want to. Less of a problem with summer squash which is more compact, but the winter varieties that you mentioned have long vines and I let them go where they want to go as well.