Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating herbs.

Old May 18, 2013   #1
Vespertino
Tomatovillian™

Default why does my borage taste like fish??

Got my first borage flower today and promptly ate it. I was under the impression it was supposed to taste like cucumber which is why I chose to grow it. The flavor was anything but... it had an odd sardine flavor, it was actually quite disgusting even though I like sardines. I haven't fed the plant or sprayed it with anything recently.

What gives? Has anyone else had this experience with borage? Luckily it was easy to grow but as I'm not finding it delicious I'm wondering if its worthy of the space its taking up on my limited apartment patio.
Vespertino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013   #2
habitat_gardener
Tomatovillian™

I've been growing borage for several years and eat the flowers frequently. They always have a pleasant refreshing taste -- especially if I get the tiny bit of nectar -- but "cucumber" is a stretch.

I'd guess your planting medium or the container may be imparting that bad flavor.
habitat_gardener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013   #3
Redbaron
Tomatovillian™

Borage leaves taste like cucumber, the flowers a pleasant I don't know, "flowery" taste.

Fish? That's a new one on me.

AKA The Redbaron

"Permaculture is a philosophy of working with, rather than against nature; of protracted & thoughtful observation rather than protracted & thoughtless labour; & of looking at plants & animals in all their functions, rather than treating any area as a single-product system."
Bill Mollison
co-founder of permaculture
Redbaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013   #4
Alfredo
Tomatovillian™