Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Discussion forum for environmentally-friendly alternatives to replace synthetic chemicals and fertilizers.

Old April 24, 2013   #1
Steve Magruder
Tomatovillian™

Default Going organic-ish without large expense

I got a soil test back that says my soil pH is fine but I need 2-3 lbs. N, 1-2 lbs. P and 1-2 lbs. K per 1,000 sq. ft. 20 lbs. of 10-10-10 were recommended but I'd like to consider organic substitutes if they are not too expensive.

I am thinking of using Steer Manure Blend from Home Depot to amend the soil, but I'm unsure of how much to use. In place of using 20 lbs of synthetic 10-10-10, how much of the SMB should I use?

Also, I need to figure out how to fertilize as I transplant the tomato plants and what to add at later times, all organically if possible.

Thanks in advance for suggestions. I'm new to organic practices and would like to start at the simplest, least expensive end of the scale for now.

Last edited by Steve Magruder; April 24, 2013 at 08:58 PM.
Steve Magruder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24, 2013   #2
Steve Magruder
Tomatovillian™

I should note that the actual area of my garden is 132 sq. ft.
Old April 24, 2013   #3
COMPOSTER
Tomatovillian™

I don't know anything about the steer manure blend and can't find an NPK analysis on the bag. Might not be too bad to amend your soil with but I'm not sure there is any fertilizer value to it. As far as an actual organic type fertilizer you might want to look into pelleted chicken manure. The products I have used in the past are Cocka doodle doo and Chickity doo. They seem to work well and are easy to apply.
COMPOSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24, 2013   #4
COMPOSTER
Tomatovillian™