Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old July 20, 2017   #1
encore
Tomatovillian™

Default blossom drop

can anyone tell why just the sungold plant is losing blossoms? I look but I can't seem to tell where they come from, all I see are little fruits starting, lol I know on larger fruit it dries up and then falls off the end of the fruit, kind of puzzling, thanks tom
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 001.JPG (77.7 KB, 101 views)
encore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20, 2017   #2
imp
Tomatovillian™

Probably not fertilized, try giving your plants a little shake or flick the blossoms lightly with your fingers. If it is in the 90's temp wise, that my also be the cause.
imp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20, 2017   #3
SharonRossy
Tomatovillian™

I am no expert, but is this only happening on SunGold? My sungold had a late start this year vs other varieties. Any chance that it's in a location that is getting bumped into or knocked around by winds or you or some critter? that much blossom drop could mean it's not getting pollinated possibly, I'll leave that to the experts but I do know that when I'm tying up or whatever, the sungold is more susceptible to dropping it's blossoms. seems a bit more fragile than my other tomato varieties.
SharonRossy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21, 2017   #4
zipcode
Tomatovillian™

Those look like petals from pollinated flowers to me. They done their job, they're being discarded. 2 of those do look kinda young, but sometimes the plant sets so well just when opening the flower, that the petals are being discarded quickly.
zipcode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21, 2017   #5
Ricky Shaw
Tomatovillian™