Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating fruit-bearing plants, trees, flowers and ornamental plants.

Old March 4, 2013   #1
kforbs126
Tomatovillian™

Default Meyer Lemon Citrus care

Hi I'm new to citrus but got an idea from my neighbor who grows lemons in a pretty decent size pot on her porch out here in San Diego. I went out and bought a dwarf meyer lemon and a barass lime. Both in 5 gallon containers.

Anyone have suggestions on good soil to transfer them to and citrus fertilizer? I will be growing in containers probably around 20". I was told at the local nursery here to use a Palm and cactus mix for both trees. How true is that?

I was thinking this from home depot http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/100464259?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&keyword=soil&storeId=10051&N=5yc1v&R=100464259#. UTU_3Fc37IU

or

http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/202247318?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&keyword=cactus+mix&storeId=10051&N=5yc1v&R=20224 7318#.UTVB1Fc37IU

Last edited by kforbs126; March 4, 2013 at 07:52 PM.
kforbs126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4, 2013   #2
Sun City Linda
Tomatovillian™

In San Diego you should be able to grow both of those in the ground which for a tree, is always preferrable. I dont know about palm and cactus mix. I do know citrus require good drainage and will not tolerate standing water so any planting mix should accomplish that. If I were putting them in pots I would add something like like bark fines and/or perlite to the mix. Good luck!
Sun City Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4, 2013   #3
kforbs126
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun City Linda View Post