Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old May 23, 2015   #1
Asimov
Tomatovillian™

Default Looking for advice

Newbie here, I will apologise in advance for what will probably be a long winded post, but I will post everything that might be relevant and see what people say.

Okay the situation is: The gardening bug bit me and the wife this year, but neither one of us are really good at it. I havent met a house plant yet that we havent managed to kill. Im pretty sure we have some fake plants that died on how. HOWEVER, we want to overcome that and we bought a bunch of trees and shrubs (Cherry, plum, haskap, blueberry, strawberry, pineberry, haskap, spearmint, dill, chives, if you were curious). I planted some peas from seed, and finally, a Rapunzel tomato.

Ok, so while we at the greenhouse we came across something called a 'Tomato Barrel' which blew my mind at the time with the whole wicking from the bottom-self watering-thing (further research has revealed that this is NOT new technology, and I have some EarthBoxes currently in the mail, but I digress)

A bag of coconut coir came with the Tomato Barrel, and one of the Tomato plants on display was in one of these containers, planted in the coconut coir. There wasnt very good instructions with the thing, so I dont think I packed the coir into the wicking area properly, therefore I am not sure it is wicking properly and I dont think I can fix it without disturbing the plant a lot.

Ok, so fast forward roughly a month or so, and here are my questions.

1) It looks like perhaps a 100% coir medium was not a good idea, if I wanted to is it possible to re plant this without hurting it terribly, and if I can, should I?

2) If I cant move it, or if I simply dont want to move it, what should I do to give it the best chance at survival / thriving?