Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old October 1, 2010   #1
pdxwindjammer
Tomatovillian™

Default I LOVE Aunt Ruby's German Green! Others?

This is my first year growing green when ripe tomatoes and the Aunt Ruby's German Green is by far my favorite as for flavor out of ALL of my varieties and colors! It wasn't a heavy producer like some of the other varieties but they are absolutely delicious!

I want to grow more green when ripe next year so I would love to hear from you about other great tasting greens. What are your favorite green when ripe varieties?

I did also enjoy my Lime Green Salad tomatoes.

I am saving seeds for the first time this year so I will have seeds to trade later this fall.

Cheers
pdxwindjammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1, 2010   #2
heirloomdaddy
Tomatovillian™

Green Giant and Cherokee Green sure get a lot of votes. I grew Green Giant this year and it was outstanding.
heirloomdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1, 2010   #3
dice
Tomatovillian™

Grub's Mystery Green: earlier than most green when ripe
varieties that I have heard of, good size, excellent flavor.
(It gets botrytis wilt in the rain up here, but then so does
nearly everything else.)
Old October 1, 2010   #4
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus

I love green when ripes almost as much as I love hearts and I was trialing a gWripe heart for someone this year but alas, with this lousy season no fruits.

Ones that I've grown that I like might include:

Cherokee Green
Green Giant
Green Doctors or GD Frosted ( cherry)
Malachite Box ( Malakhitovaya Shkatulka)
Charlie's Green
Grandma Oliver's
Dorothy's Green, aka Green
Evergreen
Humph