Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating tomatillos.

Old May 16, 2006   #1
COgarden
Tomatovillian™

Default Garden spacing, pot size for Aunt Molly's and Goldie

I've got several seedlings each of Aunt Molly's and Goldie. I'll be planting a few of each in my garden and my sister wants to try some in pots. How far apart should I plant them in my garden? What size pot would be best? Please give pot size in inches diameter and inches tall. Even though I have a link to a measurement conversion site, the whole one gallon, two gallon thing always sort of leaves me scratching my head. From what I've seen most pots aren't labelled with a gallon designation. Thanks!

Kurt
COgarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2006   #2
Suze
Tomatovillian™

Default Re: Garden spacing, pot size for Aunt Molly's and Goldie

Kurt, I'm kind of new to ground cherries too, but I'll take a stab at your question. First off, I decided that I wanted to try these in containers only first, as they are rather prolific reseeders.

Also (from what I have read), most varieties get around 12" tall and about 18" wide. So if planting in the garden, I'd think you could get away with 12" to 24" spacing.

I figured that these should work in five gallon containers -- so far, so good. I placed two Aunt Molly's together in a ten gallon container (long rectangle, like a large flower box - ~12" wide x 25" long x 9" deep) several weeks ago and they are doing quite well. Then I started some Cossack Pineapple from seed (they really do grow fast) and also put two of those together in a similar rectangular ten gallon container a couple of weeks ago.

Also, a five gallon bucket is about 12" in diameter by 15" deep.

Hope this gives you a point of reference.
Suze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14, 2009   #3
brokenbar
Tomatovillian™