Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Discussion forum for the various methods and structures used for getting an early start on your growing season, extending it for several weeks or even year 'round.

Old June 3, 2016   #1
murihikukid
Tomatovillian™

Default Soil Warming Cable

I have read that "soil warming cable" is widely used in the gardening community.... I have limited knowledge of electrical technology but I wonder if anybody with knowledge of these could answer a couple of questions for me...

I know different length cables are available but in my case its important that I get cables that can be joined together by a connector ...I wonder if this is possible...

I presume that one cannot buy a long length of cable and make individual smaller cables from it ...?? Maybe somebody that works with these cables can enlighten me ...Thanks.
murihikukid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3, 2016   #2
Worth1
Tomatovillian™

I worked in an area that everything was named by what the Brits called it.
Everyone there didn't know it by any other name than what the Brits called stiff.
It goes by the name of heat trace, heat tape heat cable heat line and so on.
You can get it for different temperatures and all manner of ways and yes you can get it in big rolls too.
You can even splice and tee it.
As far as getting it to go up to the temperatures you want you will have to do some research on line.
Worth
Worth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5, 2016   #3
Rosedude
Tomatovillian™

Amazon's got them. So does Alibaba. They come in various lengths. Reviews on Amazon are mixed. One brand is Jump Start which is also sold on at a website called Hydrofarm.com which also sells heat mats and seedling starting kits. Prices for similar equipment seem in line with big box stores, maybe a little cheaper.