Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old January 4, 2017   #1
giblet
Tomatovillian™

Default Yellow spots on leaves

I have a yellow Corleone plant in a container that has started showing yellow spots on the leaves.

I suspect it might be too much water or a nutritional problem, but I'm new to diagnosing so I wanted to request a second opinion.

giblet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4, 2017   #2
gorbelly
Tomatovillian™

What do the undersides of the affected leaves look like?

And are the newer leaves affected at all?
gorbelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4, 2017   #3
giblet
Tomatovillian™

This is only on the older leaves, the new leaves look fine. The undersides of the affected leaves look normal, although I did see two whiteflies during my inspection!

Last edited by giblet; January 4, 2017 at 02:47 AM.
Old January 4, 2017   #4
KarenO
Tomatovillian™

Closeup would help. Sucking insects is my guess
KarenO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4, 2017   #5
giblet
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarenO View Post
Closeup would help. Sucking insects is my guess
Here are some more close-up photos, this is the best I could do with my camera! I've also included one of the new growth of the plant, which looks healthy to me. I don't think this one is getting enough sun so I am going to move it to a sunnier location.

#5 Corleone in container album
Old January 4, 2017   #6
Ricky Shaw
Tomatovillian™

This is only on the older leaves...

Nutritional deficiency often shows up in this way, I believe AKMark pointed it out to me. But here's the best short piece I've seen on it, the guy is talking about corn, but you can see how it applies. Maybe it's your problem, maybe not, but it's worthwhile info. Good luck.

http://www.cropnutrition.com/deficie...t-deficiencies