Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old July 29, 2013   #1
travis
Tomatovillian™

Default Suncoast ???

Anyone grown Suncoast? This is my first time. The seeds came directly from IFAS, who used this older, high crimson line to develop Tasti-Lee.

The vines are floppy, like Amish Paste, but with much larger leaves. And the vines are fully determinate, but don't sit up like other IFAS determinate bush tomatoes. Rather it wants to lay down. And the leaves show signs of micronutrient deficiency even when grown under the exact same fertilizer and sunlight conditions as all the other vines in the same patch. They must just be a very hungry variety.

I thought the fruit would be round or flattened globes, not tall round as seen in these photographs. They are very solid, though. Just that they look a bit too tall or elongated for a typical IFAS bush determinate. You know how those Florida standards are.

So, anyway, does any of this sound like Suncoast to those of you who've grown it?

Last edited by travis; July 29, 2013 at 12:20 PM.
travis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29, 2013   #2
Tom Wagner
Crosstalk™ Forum Moderator

Travis,

In the nearly 30 years of growing Suncoast, I usually did not get the deep globes fruits as you have pictured here. In the first few years I compared Suncoast with Walter, which is in the pedigree of Suncoast and is a slightly flattened globe fruit.

I have used Suncoast and the descendarnts in crosses and locating recombinants to carry on to a uniform OP. Just four years ago I had a hybrid of Suncoast crossed with pollen from an OP Merced. The hybrid was about 3 inches across and very globe shaped with about 6 locules. I should have some F-4 seed of that cross in Hawaii right now. I know I have dozens of breeding lines of Suncoast in my seed collections.