Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating onions, garlic, shallots and leeks.

Old June 1, 2011   #1
sprtsguy76
Tomatovillian™

Default Slightly early garlic harvest, what are the consequences?

I've pulled up a dozed bulbs of some fairly early varieties, California Early and I forget the other one right now. They are filled out nicely but look like they could have used maybe another week or two. I'm new to growing garlic but my indicator was the lower leaves were really dying off. And the flower pods on some of them were out and forming. Thoughts? Thanks.

Damon
sprtsguy76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1, 2011   #2
davespitzer
Tomatovillian™

If the flower stalks are just coming out you shouldn't be losing leaves yet. I'm in California also, east of you in the Sierra foothills, and my garlic is really weird this year. No flower stalks at all on a couple of hundred plants and small bulbs, mostly with no cloves (just one big bulb). Garlic evolved (so I've read) in harsh mountainous terrain in southern Asia, and it supposedly has various survival strategies. I assume that what I've been seeing is one such strategy, although why it is happening is a mystery to me. Must be the weather, or gremlins, or some such.
The advice I've been given is to harvest when the plant has 4-6 green leaves left, and to cure it in a dark, dry, airy place with the leaves and roots still attached. In the past that has worked well for me. However, with the wet weather I haven't wanted to pull the plants because you want them to be dry for a couple of weeks before harvest. That may not be an option if this rain keeps up, though.
Good luck with your crop. Dave
davespitzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1, 2011   #3
Suze
Tomatovillian™