Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old February 28, 2014   #1
barryla61
Tomatovillian™

Default What's the secret...

...to getting thick stocky stems on plants that are started at home.

Is it best to have them in a dark room with fluorescent lighting only?

Is there a seed starting manual for dummies ?

I'm new to this so bear with me.
barryla61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28, 2014   #2
Darren Abbey
Tomatovillian™

As much light as they can get will help… insufficient light will induce the plants to stretch out as they try to grow quickly towards what light is available. This is the motivation for keeping fluorescent light fixtures close to the tops of seedlings.

...but one aspect that is often overlooked is plants' need for physical agitation.

Plants gown outside have the constant buffeting of wind and they grow stronger stems to deal with such stress. Those grown inside will generally find no wind and grow only the strength they need to remain upright.

You can correct for this by placing a reciprocating fan aimed to sweep over your seedlings. I'm planning to place a set of small computer fans around my seedlings. (I like to tinker.)
Darren Abbey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28, 2014   #3
kayrobbins
Tomatovillian™

Darren Abbey is right about needing to simulate wind to make stocky plants. I have heard it referred to as manual manipulation. I don't use a fan but every day I brush my hand across my plants. Everyone always asks me why my plants have such stocky stems and I think that is the reason.
kayrobbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28, 2014   #4
Farmette
Tomatovillian™

How old should the seedlings be before you put the fan on them?
Farmette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28, 2014   #5
RootLoops
Tomatovillian™