Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old February 7, 2014   #1
luigiwu
Tomatovillian™

Default T-8 fluorescents to grow Tomato babies?

I am in NYC-Zone 6B and our last day of frost for spring is April 12th. (Am I reading the chart right - for 32degrees?)

This is my first time starting from seed - I was thinking of starting next weekend. In all I would be growing them for 8 weeks until April 12th. I was going with the wire restaurant shelving with four T-8 fluorescent tubes per shelf.

Will this be okay? Or will the plants be too leggy by the time I put them out after 8 weeks?

Last edited by luigiwu; February 7, 2014 at 10:36 PM.
luigiwu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7, 2014   #2
Father'sDaughter
Tomatovillian™

Keep the lights very close to the plants and they should do fine. I use T8 shop lights that hang on chains from the shelve above so I can adjust the height of the lights as the plants grow. I usually move the light up about an inch or two each time the plants start touching the bulbs.
Father'sDaughter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7, 2014   #3
ScottinAtlanta
Tomatovillian™

I think they will be fine. I like also to start a little early so that I can compensate with a second starting if there are germination problems. If you are using traded seed, you should always sow twice as much as you really need.
ScottinAtlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8, 2014   #4
madddawg
Tomatovillian™

Good advise there, even if you have to babysit them or another week or so, if you have a general idea of when you can plant, go with it, that's what do. but give them light and air movement in them mean time, if you can.
Old February 8, 2014   #5
JamesL
Tomatovillian™

Luigiwu,