Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old September 4, 2019   #1
Old chef
Tomatovillian™

Default Has anyone ever ......

Hello
Wondering if anyone has ever taken a Sabbatical ? I am a chef. Truly passionate about tomatoes. I grow about 70 plants each year. 20 + varieties in addition to everything else.
I'm considering a complete season of solorizing. rebuild soil. Vacationing etc...
Taking a break.

Is there life after .....?

Old chef
Old chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4, 2019   #2
PaulF
Tomatovillian™

I once thought about taking a year off. The closer it got to starting seeds the worse I felt. When my wife asked when I was going to get started, that did it. Down into the basement and the year began. Could not even skip one year.
Old September 4, 2019   #3
GrowingCoastal
Tomatovillian™

GrowingCoastal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4, 2019   #4
maxjohnson
Tomatovillian™

I can't. Because of my heart condition, I don't expect to live to 120. There aren't a lot of tomato seasons in a lifetime, so I have to make the best of it. But for me, through putting back organic matters and compost yearly, I don't think I have to worry about depleting the soil as much.
maxjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4, 2019   #5
slugworth
Tomatovillian™

I had 2 surgeries in the summer of 2015 so the only plants I had were a few "volunteers"
from the compost pile.
I think they were offspring of the german johnson.It was a drought year and I was away
for weeks without watering them and they still survived.
Ditto.
slugworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5, 2019   #6
brownrexx
Tomatovillian™

Why not just cut back to a few plants? I don't think that you would like not having a garden at all. I wouldn't.
brownrexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5, 2019   #7
Labradors2
Tomatovillian™