Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old April 13, 2013   #1
dpurdy
Tomatovillian™

Default Hillbilly Tomato

I've started some Hillbilly tomatoes from some seeds that I received from a friend. I've never tried these before and would like some to get some feedback from anyone who have tried this variety. My friend said that they are one of the sweetest tomatoes that he grows and that they grow to average 1 to 2 pounds each. I know they're a beefsteak OP tomato, and that's about all I know about them. Any info about these would be appreciated.
dpurdy
dpurdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13, 2013   #2
tedln

They are one of my favorite multicolored tomatoes. For me, they have been a good producer of large tomatoes. When you slice one, the slices appear marbled with pink. yellow, orange, and light green colors. They are sweeter than I usually prefer, but they are still good tasting.

Ted

Last edited by tedln; April 13, 2013 at 10:09 PM.
Old April 14, 2013   #3
Worth1
Tomatovillian™

I have grown them three times in three years.

Of those three times I got one tomato.
It was one of the best tomatoes I have ever had.
What a drag.

I hope everyone does better than me with this tasty hillbilly.

Worth
Worth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10, 2013   #4
COMPOSTER
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by Worth1 View Post
I have grown them three times in three years.

Of those three times I got one tomato.
It was one of the best tomatoes I have ever had.
What a drag.

I hope everyone does better than me with this tasty hillbilly.

Worth
Thanks for sharing your failures. I have a lot of plants showing a good amount of tomatoes, but for some reason I have a Brandywine yellow and an Aunt Gerties gold that both have exactly one tomato.

Glenn
COMPOSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14, 2013   #5
edweather
Tomatovillian™