Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Potatoes (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=89)
-   -   growing potatoes in wire cage with straw? (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=10477)

Love2Troll February 24, 2009 01:26 PM

growing potatoes in wire cage with straw?

[FONT=Arial]Field fencing cages:[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial][IMG]http://www.fototime.com/8FD8C467A20C586/standard.jpg[/IMG][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial][IMG]http://www.fototime.com/F279F7034B507D5/standard.jpg[/IMG][/FONT]

[FONT=Arial]The cages are quite sturdy and are 4" x 6" mesh. I can make them any diameter and height. I container garden in a hollowed out area in a dense woods. The cage (no container) will be on top of a layer of weed guard fabric to keep the tree roots out. I'm new to growing potatoes. What I want to do is grow the potatoes in straw. I suppose I'll have to have a foot or so of compost on the bottom? And then layer with straw as the plant(s) grow. I got a little info from a search here, but can't seem to post the link. I searched "straw" in the Potatoes forum and got I think 13 hits, but not enough info.[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial]I was gifted with a box of home-grown rather fancy potatoes, shallots and garlic over the holidays. Fantastic flavor. I used all but two to make potato burritos (superb) and planned to plant them in the spring. Didn't know how to store, but knew they had to be in the dark. I washed them, dried them, wrapped in paper towels and put in my cupboard. I also did same with a few Baby Dutch that I bought at local store. Just a few days ago unwrapped them and darned if two of them hadn't started to grow. [/FONT]

[FONT=Arial]Potatoes sprouting:[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial][IMG]http://www.fototime.com/BD08669AEA339BD/orig.jpg[/IMG][/FONT]