Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Alliums (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=154)
-   -   shallots - how hardy are they? (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=42805)

bower September 25, 2016 09:18 PM

shallots - how hardy are they?

2 Attachment(s)
We had light frost last night and a frost advisory for tonight so I pulled my bulb onions and shallots too. This is my first time growing shallots - it's a yellow one from William Dam. The bulbs I planted were large, and the ones I harvested are small, but some of them didn't bulb. I thought these might be the best to replant for next year, but not sure if they are hardy enough to plant back immediately, and there's no bulb to cure for a late fall or even spring planting. :?!?:
I brought the little shallots in the house to cure, and put the 'no-bulbs' in the greenhouse overnight until I figure out what to do with them.
Maybe I should plant them in the greenhouse, and transplant outdoors in spring?

PhilaGardener September 25, 2016 09:21 PM

Looks like you have enough to try a few things, so as not to put all your shallots in one basket.

I've overwintered them without any problem in Pennsylvania, but you are colder. Definitely worth a try to have a few outside, perhaps with a really thick mulch.

bower September 25, 2016 09:28 PM

Thanks. Would you try a replant of the no-bulb ones, or do you cure the shallots and then plant them later in fall?

We're having a bit of a cold snap for the next few days, but there are normal highs near 15 C (60 F) in the week ahead, so not out of the question to plant out something green. And mulch it. ;)

joseph September 26, 2016 12:57 AM

Shallots are winter hardy in my USDA 4b garden. I don't give them any special care. Just plant them in plain old silty dirt.

KarenO September 26, 2016 02:17 AM

Agree. Plant them and they should overwinter.
Started from seed? I have only ever planted sets.
KarenO