Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Alliums (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=154)
-   -   Does all garlic 'scape' (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=22920)

gtnate May 21, 2012 07:55 PM

Does all garlic 'scape'

It's my first year growing garlic, and I have been watching various videos and reading articles in order to figure out what I should expect. Can anyone tell me if all garlic should produce 'scapes' before it is ready to be picked? I'm just curious, as I haven't seen any scapes yet on any of my plants.

Lcottomsvcs May 21, 2012 07:59 PM

I might be wrong, but in my experience hardneck varieties make scapes, softneck varieties don't. But that could have just been my growing experience.

Lora

Mojave May 21, 2012 08:01 PM

None of my softnecks have ever had scapes. Just the hardnecks.

JerryL May 21, 2012 08:16 PM

Only Elephant and Hardneck scape.

The following is from 'The Garlic Store' site. No mention of Softneck scaping.

[COLOR=#008080][COLOR=#ff0000][B]HARVESTING[/B] [/COLOR]