Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Legumes (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=156)
-   -   How long do green beans keep? (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=11318)

Fert1 May 30, 2009 11:58 PM

How long do green beans keep?

How long do green beans keep in a refrigerator? I ask, because I have a couple of bean pods that are big enough to pick, but most are tiny and will be a while before they are ready. I just wondered how long they will keep while I wait for more to add to them. Yes, it's my first year growing green beans of any kind. So I haven't a clue what I'm doing.

Zana May 31, 2009 12:18 AM

Why not toss those that are ripe in the freezer until others are ripe enough to eat, and then eat them?

garnetmoth May 31, 2009 12:47 AM

beans grow fast, you should be OK. if you keep them in a plastic bag, maybe with a barely damp paper towel, they should be fine for 3-4 days easy.
I thought freezing was best done after blanching, but havent frozen any myself.
good luck

aninocentangel May 31, 2009 12:50 AM

I usually get little batches like that too, and save them in the freezer. When I get a whole big bag I do the blanching thing and either can them or eat them.
If you want to keep them in the fridge and they're whole they'll usually still be okay in a week, although I find that they'll have toughened up.

Amigatec May 31, 2009 07:59 AM

I don't know they never last that long around here. :)

I have found that frozen green beans tend to get rubbery if not blanched before freezing. I normally can all of mine.

Fert1 May 31, 2009 11:29 AM

I hadn't even thought of freezing them. Thanks for the suggestion!

aninocentangel June 4, 2009 05:28 AM