Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Growing In Containers (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=72)
-   -   Is There A Difinitive Mix for Self-Watering Buckets? (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=29920)

nolabelle August 31, 2013 04:08 PM

Is There A Difinitive Mix for Self-Watering Buckets?

I am about to embark on a new gardening journey with the SWC, and I've read mixed suggestions about the potting mix. This is what I am thinking:

Equal parts of sphagnum, perlite and compost. OR

70% sphagnum and 30% perlite/vermiculite and NO compost.

Also, with sphagnum, there is the need for dolomite lime. And what about epsom salt? I be confused.

I have all of the above and will be manufacturing a couple of self watering bucket systems this weekend. I've had issues before with soil mixes in containers. Does anyone have a solution that might work for a total newbie? Please advise. And thank you in advance!

JamesL August 31, 2013 07:10 PM

Nolabelle,
In my humble opinion, Go with Raybo's 3-2-1 mix, and add some lime. Simple and done. The harder part is getting your watering evened out and the proper fertilization. Get that worked out and you will do fine.

I believe this is the latest version - see pages 17 and 18
[url]http://www.tomatofest.com/pdfs/EarthTainer-Construction-Guide.pdf[/url]

3 -peat moss
2-bark fines
1-perlite
So as not to confuse anyone else who might read this - This recommendation is for self watering, sub irrigated only. Top watered containers that utilize drainage are a different animal and need to be treated as such.

tlintx August 31, 2013 08:16 PM

Second the recommendation for Raybo's mix, it works superbly in SWCs/SIPs.

Miracle Gro also works, but ran really wet for me (and clogged and got stinky).