Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Crosstalk: Tomatoville Research and Development™ (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=70)
-   -   F1 Seed company? (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=33687)

snugglekitten August 19, 2014 06:47 PM

F1 Seed company?

Hi guys,

I have been breeding for several years now, and I am at the point where I have unique germoplasm to work with which helps create new breeds for flavor and disease resistence.

Does anyone have experience selling f1 seed?

Do I need a license? Do I need to allow anyone to inspect the seed first?

thanks in advance.

SK

snugglekitten August 20, 2014 03:02 PM

Bump - no one want to share a bit of experience on their seed companies?

I may just have something good for ya... ;):yes:

Fred Hempel August 20, 2014 06:50 PM

Licensing and inspecting issues are pretty specific to the country of residence. I don't think anyone here can help with Polish rules and regulations.

And most folks here don't sell F1 seed.

snugglekitten August 21, 2014 10:26 AM

[QUOTE=Fred Hempel;428500]Licensing and inspecting issues are pretty specific to the country of residence. I don't think anyone here can help with Polish rules and regulations.

And most folks here don't sell F1 seed.[/QUOTE]

Is F1 seed around here taboo?

Like flyfishermen keeping trout for breakfast?

snugglekitten August 21, 2014 10:27 AM

[QUOTE=snugglekitten;428561]Is F1 seed around here taboo?

Like flyfishermen keeping trout for breakfast?[/QUOTE]

Thing is, if I sell OP seed, I am just taking other people's work and mimicking it until the profit margin reaches zero...then everyone stops selling OP seed, and how is that helping anyone?

Fred Hempel August 21, 2014 10:33 AM

F1 seed is certainly not taboo for me.

It is just that F1 seed sellers are typically not the staple of the mom & pop seed companies who are represented here.