Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Common Garden Diseases and Pests (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Copper Spraying - Avoiding Blossom (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=47667)

mobiledynamics June 12, 2018 10:32 AM

Copper Spraying - Avoiding Blossom

A t'villan made a remark that I was not aware of - which was avoid getting copper on blossom when spraying as it may affect it.

For those that spray, when you have leaves intermixed with flowers.....just short of individual hand painting each leaf, how do you spray.

I've got 4 plants that are showing black spots. I think it's septoria but too early too tell. Leaves are healthy but when you catch them in the right light, you can see some that are developing black spots.

oakley June 12, 2018 01:31 PM

An unaware visitor visiting my garden would think all is well and healthy. I know otherwise as
I am a close inspector daily.

I am dealing with grey mold and it is almost microscopic. On stems it is, I think, a lost cause.
But I have a few dozen healthy back-up plants.

I've been holding my other hand over the blossoms while copper misting. Most issues are on lower
leaves and removing what leaves are not important.
I have a small hand mister/spritzer for individual leaves. (potassium bicarbonate)

Copper too strong and too often will do a bit of unfortunate killing yet the proper dose will help
those of us suffering, :lol:
Not funny really but I'm of the age to accept what happens and do what I have time for.

I have a few dozen test starts I don't need, to experiment with.
Gloves or a barrier oil helps if gloves are an issue. (I make a beeswax coconut oil garden hand cream
that protects my hands since I hate gloves.)

Also depends on how many plants need such attention.

bower June 12, 2018 01:36 PM