Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Cucurbits (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   Spaghetti Squash (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=49610)

MuddyBuckets August 28, 2019 06:53 PM

Spaghetti Squash

Zone 7b - Piedmont North Carolina.This season I started seeds, potted up and planted 6 fairly large and robust spaghetti squash. Vines grew well and are now quite large with NO flowers or any fruit set. They were well watered and fertilized twice. We had a wet spring and a hot 30 days of 90+ in late June.

Any pointers or suggestions on how to get production from a spaghetti squash is appreciated. Is it really worth the effort?

Worth1 August 28, 2019 07:04 PM

May be the hot weather but I am no expert.
I wish I could help more.

GoDawgs August 28, 2019 08:58 PM

That's strange. I've grown spaghetti squash for about six years now and haven't run into that problem. Mine are a smaller version called Small Wonder. One is good for two people, a half for each. But variety size shouldn't have any bearing on this situation.

I can understand the heat interfering with fruit set but June is long gone and you should have had some by now.

What variety are you growing and what's the DTM?

MuddyBuckets August 28, 2019 10:07 PM

These were saved seeds from store bought spaghetti squash so no clue as to type and DTM. They sprouted quickly and were planted 2 per hill.

upcountrygirl August 28, 2019 10:40 PM

Did you grow any other kind of squash? If so, what were your results with them? I'm a lil further south of you. No one I know around here had a good garden. Temperature too high and no rain. I also noticed less pollinators during that time...

MuddyBuckets August 28, 2019 11:55 PM

Countrygirl