Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Common Garden Diseases and Pests (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Has anyone seen this before? (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=8245)

bigbubbacain April 1, 2008 10:33 AM

Has anyone seen this before?

1 Attachment(s)
I certainly hope someone can Identify this problem. I've never had it on a tomato plant before. It almost looks like a fertilizer burn, but I've been vary careful with spraying and the stunted growth areas make me wonder about disease. I only have it on 5 of my plants, all which came from the same grower, sold at the same feed store in the Houston area. Hope someone can help with this, as I've got just enough time to find 5 replacements.

mdvpc April 1, 2008 11:48 AM

Bubba-I am not very good at disease diagnosis, but I wonder if its cucumber mosaic virus. Take a look at this link and see what you think:

[url]http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/tomatoproblemsolver/leaves/27.html[/url]

duajones April 1, 2008 11:51 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Here is another photo of cucumber mosaic virus. Could also be herbicide drift

mdvpc April 1, 2008 01:05 PM

D-glad you thought of that-I agree it potentially is drift.

creister April 1, 2008 01:19 PM

Two out of the past 5 seasons, I have had that same symptom on some of my seedlings. I grew all of them at my house. I also thought it was cucumber mosaic virus, so I called the county extension office. They assured me that it was not in the area that they knew of.

I then figured it came from chemical drift, as there is quite a bit of agricultural land near Abilene, and west Texas wind . I also have a suspicion that they might have been given a virus from aphids. Some plants grew out of it and made many tomatoes(Noir De Crim) and some grew out and produced nothing (Super Sioux), and some got so bad, that I pulled them up. I haven't seen any plants do this yet this year.