Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=61)
-   -   Familiar with Detskiy Sladkiy Tomatoes? (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=28521)

FisherPrice June 8, 2013 04:25 PM

Familiar with Detskiy Sladkiy Tomatoes?

[FONT=Arial][SIZE=2]I picked up a couple of Early Girl plants at the local greenhouse here in Fairbanks. And when I got home I noticed that I accidently grabbed a Detskiy Sladkiy plant as well. I cant find much on these other than they are Russian, and the name means sweet for children. Is anyone familiar with these tomatoes?

Thanks!
[/SIZE][/FONT]

Heritage June 8, 2013 07:40 PM

FisherPrice,

This is my first year growing it also. It is a determinate, heavy production of what looks to be small tomatoes. Very good early fruit set. I set it out late with several other Russian determinates to compare flavor. I haven't had a chance to taste any yet, but the good early production was impressive and I think it should make a good Alaskan tomato. I'm curious to hear how yours performs, and also any feedback from other growers. I am always looking for alternatives to Early Girl for my parents in Montana.

Steve

FisherPrice June 8, 2013 10:23 PM

Thanks! I asked the greenhouse I got them from about the Detskiy Sladkiy plants and they told me that they are grown localy by a russian in Fairbanks. He provided the seeds. It is the first year that they have had them so they did not have much information other than early producers well suited for Alaska.. Where are your parents in Montana? I grerw up in Great Falls.

Heritage June 8, 2013 10:35 PM

I received my seeds from user simmran1 (Randy) and I think his source was also somewhere in Alaska but I'd have to check our correspondence to be sure.

My parents are in Kalispell and that's where I grew up. I couldn't decide to go north or south, I decided on south.:)