Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Peppers Hot and Sweet (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   Why plant pepper plants close together(groups)?? (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=26943)

socalgardengal March 7, 2013 01:51 PM

Why plant pepper plants close together(groups)??

This is my first time growing peppers and I have read in a few posts about people planting peppers in groups. Why is this done and is it done by varieties or does it matter? Thanks for the info.

Fred Hempel March 7, 2013 02:03 PM

We plant peppers close together so they can support each other. I think it is also done because they often don't get very big.

Redbaron March 7, 2013 02:59 PM

That is correct Fred. For support but also peppers are a plant that likes its roots in shade its fruit in high humidity and its tops in sun...So it likes the microclimate of crowded conditions as long as they don't shade them out. That's why I prefer low growing companions there too. With peppers it's all about the micro climate around each plant.

socalgardengal March 7, 2013 03:19 PM

Interesting! So it's ok to plant sweet and hot peppers next to each other?? And how close to each other should they be? Thanks :)

Redbaron March 7, 2013 03:46 PM

[QUOTE=socalgardengal;332565]Interesting! So it's ok to plant sweet and hot peppers next to each other?? And how close to each other should they be? Thanks :)[/QUOTE]well it depends on the variety but last year I planted mine 18 inches apart in staggered rows one foot apart forming a zig zag pattern and also grew several companions like basil cilantro tarragon etc between that. It was very tight.